Waifu Wars, who is the best romance in Persona 5?

I adore Persona 5, I find myself frequently thinking back to the 161 hours I put into that game. To what feels like a lifetime I spent as Joker and with his newfound friends. Now with Persona 5: Royal is set for release in March 2020. I find myself excited once again. As P5: R promises to bring not only new confidants but plenty more interactions between the player character (Joker) and the Phantom Thieves. So I figured whilst I am counting down the days to P5: R why not recall the best confidants. In fact, why not have a countdown to the best romance in the game? Perhaps after I’ve made it through P5: R see how much my opinions have changed. Or stayed the same. 

So here we go, may the best waifu win! (Beware! Spoilers for all waifu confidant ranks) 
(All images can be found at: https://atlus.com/persona5/characters.html)

In last place at Number 9: Mifune, Chihaya

In order to even begin this romance you have to pay 100,000¥ and it never really pays off (you do eventually get the money back though). Chihaya is quite sweet and there are parts to her story that I enjoyed. Particularly the reason why she had to leave her hometown as she was believed to bring misfortune. Other than that it was not worth it. She is pretty but doesn’t have any depth whereas every other character here has something more to them. It is a no from me to this romance.

Number 8: Ohya, Ichiko– 

I quite loved her journalist fighting corruption shtick. I could even get behind her being a bit of a drunk. Especially the type of stuff she had been through, desperately trying to clear her friend’s name. Ohya was also a quintessential cougar and had a better confidant rank than some who placed higher on this list. However, the age gap isn’t really for me (which you’ll find is a theme in this list). I also never really felt like she wanted to be with the Main Character like it was almost a fling to her. 

Number 7: Kawakami, Sadyo– 

I’m really not a fan of teacher-student relationships. However, I liked her character well enough. In fact, by the end of her confidant rank, I was invested in her story. Truly I think the most telling thing is that out of all of the women on this list she is the only one who I refer to by her second name. That’s simply because it felt wrong to use her first name. That power imbalance doesn’t feel good at all. But the master-maid relationship could be fun if you are into that sort of thing. Overall the romance didn’t land with me at all. 

Number 6: Njimia, Makoto

Now I know people love Makoto and I do too. At times she definitely comes off too cold. I guess throughout the game she warms up somewhat. Yet I found myself searching for a reason to like the Queen with a motorcycle for a Persona. She sounds awesome and yet her personality fails to deliver. Even her confidant rank doesn’t really make you connect with her well enough in my opinion. You’d think the fake dating would add some romance. Yet I’m still here waiting for an emotional response. Her sister had more of an emotional connection to the story. Somehow Makoto who was in the game for so long, and had less of an impact than other more short-lived characters (e.g. Haru and Futaba who both were impactful characters with way less screen time). 

Number 5: Okumura, Haru

Haru is a winner simply because she is so kind to others. Despite being treated rather cruelly by several people in her confidant rank. Her character struggles to think for herself, which makes her lose a few waifu points with me. The reason she is in the middle of the pack is that I couldn’t enjoy her voice. No fault on the voice acting, it’s that Haru came across as too simpering. Well for me at least. However, that is a personal taste issue. As I know many find her voice sweet. She keeps on winning though, with one of the best confidant ranks in all of Persona 5. But due to her true arrival being very late in the game. It is hard to max out her confidant rank. Which I find really disappointing. I hope that the changes in P5: R will make Haru more accessible.

Number 4: Sakura, Futaba– 

I want Futaba to be so much higher on this list! The problem is that she gives off way too many little sister vibes. She is infantilized by many of the characters throughout Persona 5. Futaba gets the edge on other characters (e.g. Makoto and Haru) because she ticks all the main boxes. 1. She is truly affectionate with Joker. 

2. She has a sweet confidant rank, that actually develops her character. 

3. Futaba has good interactions and time with the Main Character. 

So boxes have been ticked, but she doesn’t get into the top 3. Mainly because Sojiro is placed as a father figure to her and Joker. She also doesn’t have the most interesting rank on offer. The little sister is too overall strong for me. I can’t justify putting her higher or call it my favourite romance. 

Number 3: Takemi, Tae– 

Tae is a doctor with a heart of gold. I mean she is clearly older than the Main Character and has questionable morals. There is a good cause driving her if that means anything to you (it doesn’t endear her to me). The age gap again feels far too wide at times. The reason why Tae is so compelling is her story. Her confidant rank is so well realised. I love that she is so determined to help Miwa-Chan. It’s great that she has a cute nickname for Joker. She could be more affectionate, but the affection comes across more as you go through her rank. The fact that she can spend so much time with the Main Character is her saving grace. I would prefer Makoto or Haru to take this spot. But Tae makes her presence felt more than Makoto. Similarly, the good doctor is more free-thinking and assertive than Haru. 

Number 2: Togo, Hifumi– 

I want her to be tied to the main story. I mean Hifumi is so Savage in shogi and yet so soft-spoken. In contrast to Haru, I adore her voice acting. It is easy to appreciate how intellectual she is and she develops well throughout her confidant rank. I also have a big love for her and the Main Characters dynamic. How she can dominate in shogi and struggle to step into the limelight. Hifumi’s confidant rank was way more interesting than I expected. As mentioned before her rank isn’t tied to the main experience which makes her feel a little less developed than those actually in the phantom thieves proper. In fact, she could be ignored entirely. Personal taste plays a big factor in this whole list. But I kept paying the money to get to Kanda because I enjoyed Hifumi’s conversations, her style and even her mementoes mission. It breaks my heart to turn down Hifumi. I want more for this relationship, hence why it sits pretty at number 2. 

And last but in first place. My number 1: Takamaki, Ann– 

Ann was my chosen waifu in my first playthrough and she still remains my favourite. Ann is sweet and assertive in equal measure. The best thing about Ann is that you get to spend so much time with her in-game. So the romance has some much time to develop. She is romantic with the Main Character, plus they are actually similar ages (finally some good f***ing food). Ann seems to align well morally with Joker and his whole deal. I like that she has goals and changes her mind frequently. It makes her feel more like an indecisive teenager. It isn’t all roses as Ann’s confidant rank ties closely with her best friend Shiho Suzui. Which sometimes means it feels less about Ann and more about Shiho. But Ann’s rank is overall about her coming to realise her own strength. It’s not the strongest confidant rank, but it has some sweet moments. It could’ve been better but Ann is so entrenched in all of Persona 5. It’s forgivable, at least in my eyes. For me, Ann is the strongest contender for Joker’s heart. 

There it is? Have you played Persona 5, who is your top waifu? All this waifu talk makes me want to play Persona 5 again. Just a few more months till P5: R. I’ll try and last that long…

But that’s all for now folks.

Leave a comment